Still time to apply for the 2020 POWER scholarships

STATEHOUSE (Sept. 12, 2019) – Officials with the Indiana Political Organization for Women’s Education and Representation (POWER) said today there is still time to apply for scholarships the organization is offering to non-traditional women students whose education was delayed or interrupted.

State Rep. Holli Sullivan (R-Evansville), president of POWER, and State Rep. Robin Shackleford (D-Indianapolis), POWER vice president, said the organization will be offering at least 18 scholarships, two in each Congressional district, for $750 apiece. Applications will be accepted until October 18.

“Through this scholarship, non-traditional female students can receive financial help as they further their education,” Sullivan said. “Obtaining higher education credentials can open doors and we want hard-working Hoosiers to have opportunities to meet their career goals and aspirations, regardless of their age, family structure or previous work experience.”

Shackleford added, “This program provides a perfect opportunity to help women who have the vision to succeed, despite any adversities that life has presented them. We are especially interested in recognizing those women whose goals and desires for education align with a passion to give back to their communities.”

Scholarships are aimed at supportingwomen who are returning to school after a hiatus, changing careers, and seeking advancement in their careers or work lives, as well as stay-at-home moms entering the workplace who are in need of additional education and training. Scholarships are given to women who are residents of the state of Indiana and who are pursuing their educational endeavors in the state.

The scholarship is not intended for recent high school graduates or women who are eligible for or already have received other significant financial aid.

In each Congressional district, one scholarship will be awarded to a non-traditional woman who is enrolled in courses at a higher education institution in Indiana, and a second scholarship will be awarded to a non-traditional woman who is majoring full-time in a science, technology, engineering or mathematics program (STEM) at a college or university in Indiana.

The primary selection criteria to be used by the committee selecting the scholarship winners will be financial need, personal vision, service to the community, and future plans.

Scholarships will be awarded at a ceremony in February 2020.

To fill out an application, go to

For more information, call 317-232-9991.


State Rep. Holli Sullivan (R-Evansville) represents House District 78,
which includes portions of Vanderburgh and Warrick counties.

State Rep. Robin Shackleford (D-Indianapolis) represents House District 98,
which includes portions of Marion County.